Licensing Consequences When Charged with DUI, Reckless Driving, And Negligent Driving 1st Degree

Licensing Consequences When Charged with DUI, Reckless Driving, And Negligent Driving 1st Degree in Tacoma, Seattle WA

Everyone gets excited when they turn 16 and first get their Washington license. However, having  your license is a privilege, which is why the legislature has allowed for Washington Department of Licensing (DOL) and courts to suspend it if you are charged with certain crimes. What’s even more confusing is that the DOL and courts have different standards for when to suspend your license. The criminal court will impose licensing consequences if you are convicted certain crimes. In ADDITION, the DOL will ALSO impose licensing consequences if you are arrested for DUI and lose the DOL hearing.

Let’s clear up all this confusion and take a look at common driving offenses to see what happens to your license:

DUI in Olympia, Seattle or Tacoma

1st DUI within 7 years

Criminal Court:

  • If your breath test (at the station, not the portable one at the scene) is below  .15, then your license will be suspended for 90 days.
  • If your breath test is .15 or above, your license will be revoked for 1 year.
  • If you refuse the breath test, your license will be revoked for 2 years.

DOL:

  • If your breath test (at the station, not the portable one at the scene) is below  .15, then your license will be suspended for 90 days.
  • If your breath test is .15 or above, your license will be suspended for 90 days.
  • If you refuse the breath test, your license will be revoked for 1 year.

2nd DUI within 7 years*

Criminal Court

  • If your breath test (at the station, not the portable one at the scene) is below  .15, then your license will be revoked for 2 years.
  • If your breath test is .15 or above, your license will be revoked for 900 days.
  • If you refuse the breath test, your license will be revoked for  3 years.

DOL

  • If your breath test (at the station, not the portable one at the scene) is below  .15, then your license will be revoked for 2 years.
  • If your breath test is .15 or above, your license will be revoked for 2 years
  • If you refuse the breath test, your license will be revoked for  2 years.

3rd+ DUI within 7 years*

Criminal Court

  • If your breath test (at the station, not the portable one at the scene) is below  .15, then your license will be revoked for 3 years.
  • If your breath test is .15 or above, your license will be revoked for 4 years
  • If you refuse the breath test, your license will be revoked for  4 years.

*A 2nd or 3rd + DUI within 7 years means a straight DUI, an amendment to Reckless Driving, or amendment to Negligent Driving. So for example, Let’s say in 2015 you were charged with a DUI, and it was amended to a reckless driving. Then in 2017, you were charged with a DUI, then that DUI is your “2nd within 7” even though you plead guilty to a lesser charge back in 2015.

Reckless Driving

30 day license suspension. DOL usually takes 45 days after the criminal conviction to suspend the license.

Negligent Driving 1st Degree

No license suspension

 This is just a basic summary of how your license will be suspended or revoked if charged with certain crimes. Horwath Law can help you navigate through this complicated process. We also represent clients at DOL hearings to help you keep your license. Contact us today if you have been charged with a DUI, Reckless Driving, or Negligent Driving in the 1st degree and/or you need help with your DOL hearing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *